Dean Hughes War Collection - Set of 4

Dean Hughes War Collection - Set of 4
    Code: DEANH201
    Add to Wish List
    Quantity in Basket: None
    Shipping Weight: 1.43
    Author: Dean Hughes
    Format: Paperback
    Publisher: Atheneum Books
    Series: Dean Hughes War Collection
    Ages: Teen
    Size: 5½ X 8¼
    Accelerated Reader: Yes
    List Price: $44.96
    Your Price: $27.40
    Savings: $17.56 (39%)

    This is a rare, much-appreciated, series because it portrays the horrors of war without profanity and without being graphic or gratuitously violent.  The series shares from the perspective of the soldier, usually a teen or early-20-something.  Each story is based on true events from history; accurately depicting the struggles, sorrows, and victories of war.   

    Titles include:

    Soldier Boys

    Two boys from different sides of the war, each wanting to be the hero. Their worst fear was that the war would end too soon—that they wouldn't get the chance to prove themselves. But when they finally see the action they were hoping for, it's like nothing they could have ever imagined.

    Search and Destroy

    And he's not sure why. Maybe he's running from his dad and his crazy temper. Maybe he's running from his girl, who seems to think he's more of a joke than a man. Or maybe he's just running—to find himself.

    Missing in Action

    Jay Thacker is used to being called names because his dad is half Navajo. But he gets a chance at a new life and a new identity when he and his mom move to the small town of Delta to live with Jay's grandfather. In Delta, Jay can convince everyone, and maybe even himself, that his dad—who is missing in action as he fights in WWII—is really a POW and military hero, and not gone forever.


    Yuki Nakahara is an American.

    But it's the start of World War II, and America doesn't see it that way. Like many other Japanese Americans, Yuki and his family have been forced into an internment camp in the Utah desert. But Yuki isn't willing to sit back and accept this injustice—it's his country too, and he's going to prove it by enlisting in the army to fight for the Allies.

    When Yuki and his friend Shig ship out, they aren't prepared for the experiences they'll encounter as members of the "Four-Four-Two," a segregated regiment made up entirely of Japanese American soldiers. Before Yuki returns home—if he returns home—he'll come face-to-face with persistent prejudices, grueling combat he never imagined, and friendships deeper than he knew possible.

    Based on the little-known history of the real 442nd Regimental Combat Team, this is a gut-wrenching, thought-provoking, heart-pounding story of war and identity.